GIMP 2.8 RC1 released

You have read it right. GIMP already released a RC of GIMP 2.8. You may wonder why GIMP released it as a RC even though 2.7.5 was doing quite well.

Well, I am also wondering why. It could be for feedback and bug reporting. We’ll just have to wait.

At last, we can try and test GIMP 2.8. Windows binaries can be found at http://gimp-win.sourceforge.net/stable.html

It is quirky at the moment, to me at least. Here’s what happened:

I downloaded a copy of GIMP 2.8 from the link above. Then, I tried to install it in my PC at work running with Windows Home Edition Service Pack 2.

I chose a language and pressed OK. Then an error popped up. It states that it requires Service Pack 2 or higher. GIMP developers might have overlook this or my PC isn’t saying correctly what Service Pack it’s running.

So I tried it with my PC at home running with Service Pack 3. And this time, it ran properly and I was able to install GIMP 2.8.

UI is very nice especially the Single Window Mode. A very nice addition indeed. Another worthy to mention is the addition of Folders in the Layers tab. A feature which I was looking for the first time I tried GIMP. This will surely give proprietary image editors a ran for their money.

I also noticed that Windows version has a Slice tool which was missing in the previous versions. A feature that most people are looking for and inquiring about.

GIMP 2.8 RC was released together with a new version of BABL and GEGL. Using GEGL was too slow for me.

Anyway, I will post some pictures soon and other notes I have on GIMP 2.8 before a stable version will be released. You can also check out the task taste to track the project schedule of GIMP.

Linux version is out of this scope since I am only running a Windows machine and haven’t had the opportunity to produce a Linux box.

Happy GIMPing everyone!

Leave a Reply

