Add Photoshop and GIMP brushes

Phew, I’m back. Yeah, I know it’s been quite a while. But anyways..

I’ve seen a lot of question going around on how to add additional brushes to The GIMP. Not only can we add GIMP brushes but we can also utilize those wonderful brushes made for Photoshop. Nice!

Note: This is a Windows version of GIMP so I haven’t had details on a Linux or other platforms. If you have any information, leave a comment. Thanks

Okay, on to the post of the day, adding brushes to GIMP. Well, there are several ways on adding brushes. These are, adding to your personal folder and to the program files folder.

Personal folder: This personal folder can be found at C:\Documents and Settings\<your-username>\.gimp-2.6\brushes. Change .gimp-2.6 to the appropriate folder located on your system. To be sure with the folder locations, you might as well navigate to that folder using the Windows Explorer. You might have to turn on the settings for viewing hidden file, if necessary.

GIMP on Personal Folder
GIMP on Personal Folder

Navigate to that folder and drop in your brushes. Run The Gimp or restart it if it is already running.

Program Files Folder: Navigate to the folder where The Gimp was installed. Mine was on Program Files with a folder name of Gimp-2.0. Open share. Then open gimp. Then 2.0 (or any similar folder). Then brushes. My complete location for the brushes folder is C:\Program Files\Gimp-2.0\share\gimp\2.0\brushes

Drop your brushes there and Run GIMP or restart if it is already running.

If you’re brushes does not appear. Check that the location is present on your Preferences.

Go to Edit > Preferences. On the pop up box, locate Folders > Brushes on the left hand side and make sure that your folder is present on Brushes’ folder.

brushpreferences

Can you see the third folder location in the preferences? That’s the method I use. For me, I would like to keep separate my download and custom brushes from the brushes already packaged with GIMP.

Alternative Method

What I do is make a folder on a safe place, in my case my other partition which is E:\, and drop my brushes in there. I created a new folder to store my Photoshop and GIMP brushes. Then, add that location to the preferences and boom, I have my brushes added to GIMP. With this, I can easily manage my brushes and keep them safe if I have to reformat my PC or uninstall GIMP.

Hope that helps. Happy GIMPing!

Leave a Reply

